How to Keep Old Braids Neat

I stretch my dollar like silly putty. I look for sales when I’m grocery shopping, I try to negotiate prices with street vendors and I’ve never paid full price for a pair of jeans.

One of the hardest areas for me to save monetarily is with my hair expenses. I treat my hair with the utmost care. I’m not the girl that leaves in my weave for 6months and then wonders why I have 3 inches of hair left. I’m the girl that invests in high quality products and seeks the most talented and experienced hair dressers to style my hair.

With that said, maintaining my hair has become very expensive, but I have learned a lot of tricks on how to preserve hairstyles so that you can keep them looking neat to avoid spending extra money for touch-ups.

If you follow me on twitter (@sunlightbeauty1), or are an active reader you know that I love hair weaves. Love Love Love them! But, I am currently on a hiatus from hair extensions  so that I can give my hair and my wallet a much needed break.

Right now, I am rocking cornrows and I love them! If you have a good braider your hairstyle can last up to 4 weeks before it starts to damage your hair. But, 4 weeks does not mean that your style will remain fresh and perfect for the entire time. When you reach week 4, your hair will definitely look like it needs to be re-done direly.

So even though you can wear your cornrows for about 4weeks most people take them out on the second week because they start to look fuzzy and un-neat. I’m not most people. Don’t get me wrong I love the way crisp new braids look but I always think older cornrows look natural and almost like dreads if it is cared for properly.

Alot of  times, when you keep cornrows past 2 weeks the main issue people have is that the style starts to look fuzzy, due to new growth or stray hairs.  The braids are fine but fuzziness makes it look unkempt. So, I have a solution for those of you that like to keep your cornrows past 2weeks and don’t mind the look of not-so crisp looking braids, but would like them to still look neat.

How to Keep Old Braids Neat:

1. Brush your braids softly in the direction of your style.

2. Apply mousse all over your braids until the foam disappears. I use Vigorol Mousse Relaxed Styling Foam, (I love it!)

3. Apply hair spray on your braids. I use Big Sexy Hair spray, (It’s alright…)

4. Then tightly wrap your hair with a silk/satin scarf. It is best to leave your hair wrapped overnight but you can leave it wrapped for at least 30mins.

After you unwrap your hair, your cornrows will look a lot neater. The fuzziness will be just about eliminated. I do this once a week or when needed. I don’t like to do it too often because excessive use of mousse and hairspray (for me) do not promote healthy hair growth.

Try this hair trick and let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

