Real Life Kirstie Alley

As soon as I placed my big toe on my college campus I gained the freshman 15… times a gazillion. I guess I thought  flipping  frantically through the pages of my public relations textbooks would somehow counteract having Burger King for lunch everyday. I was sadly mistaken.

As a child, I never struggled with my weight. My mom was diabetic so my whole family ate healthy and exercised regularly. In high school I played varsity field hockey and JV lacrosse. During the off-season I went to the gym daily. Occasionally, I would go up in weight but I would quickly slim down.

I would describe my weight loss journey in two words; Kirstie Alley, without the glittery costumes from Dancing with the Stars. Basically, one year I am down and the next year I am up.

Now that I am done with college, I am determined to slim down and be healthy. I am officially on the road to being skinny and thin. Usually, when I try to lose weight I count calories and fat and go to the gym 5 days a week for an hour. But, this time I want to do something different. I don’t just want to  lose the weight; I want to keep it off.

After seeing Jennifer Hudson looking better than ever, I’ve decided to join Weight Watchers.  I will document my journey using the program.

Weight Watchers (WW) is a diet plan that uses a system called “points plus”. In the plan you count your food in points instead of in calories or fat. You can track your food points on their site and attend weekly meetings where you weigh in. The meetings are facilitated by a Weight Watchers member who has reached their goal weight. In the meeting members give fitness and food advice and provide support. There is also a weekly WW magazine that gives helpful tips to losing weight on the plan.

So, wish me luck on my journey to being skinny and thin. And stay tuned for my results.

Leave a Reply

